The Dysfunction of Child Abuse

cropped-being-silly.jpgHappy Hump Day to you all.

I wrote an article yesterday about the Leech Lake Indian Reservation in Minnesota.  Actually, it was in response to comments I received from the first article I wrote about that reservation in which I stated that there was widespread child abuse there.

Needless to say the reaction was interesting.  First, it took about a year for the first article to be noticed by the residents of Leech Lake, but once they noticed it all hell broke loose.  I was accused of being racist; I was accused of being myopic; I was accused of being a liar; interestingly, though, nobody denied that the abuse was happening there.  The best defense they could devise, other than to call me a sonofabitch, was to say that abuse happens everywhere and why was I picking on their reservation.

Welcome to the dysfunctional playhouse.

Why all the defensive behavior?  Why all the claims of racism?  Why all the name calling?  If someone told me that there was child abuse in my hometown of Olympia I would first say yes, and second I would want to do something to end it if at all possible.  That didn’t happen with the residents of Leech Lake….it was almost overwhelmingly a collective response of anger at me for having the audacity to bring this subject to light.

Welcome to the dysfunctional playhouse.

I’ve lived quite a long time now, and I can say without hesitation that this type of behavior is not limited to reservations.  I have seen it in my own family, the denial, the refusal to even speak of such horrors, and the resentment of anyone who dares to speak about it.

A mentor of mine once told me that I am only as sick as the number of secrets I keep.  I believe that.  Pushing problems into a closet is not a solution.  Enabling others is not a solution.  Only the truth has any hope of solving problems like abuse.

Bill

About Billybuc

A simple man who has found happiness as a functioning dysfunctional.
This entry was posted in dysfunctional lives and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Dysfunction of Child Abuse

  1. Bill well said and I learned all time ago that enabling and pushing certain issues under the proverbial rug was not going to help anyone or anything. So, I couldn’t agree more here with you today. Like I said yesterday about this, thanks again for being you and pursuing this one at all costs. Wishing you a great Wednesday now!! 🙂

  2. ruchira says:

    Unfortunately people wanna stay away from the truth cause most of the times truth is ugly.
    Our society is gradually learning the pros and cons of it and I hope we all come out in the open and face it and embrace it cause we all will learn to follow our heart!

    Great post, Bill
    Got to see within me and reflect upon a few things

  3. Well said, Bill. I don’t want to repeat myself, since I commented on your article yesterday. You just keep stirring that pot. Eventually, some of the evil will leave the brew.

  4. dee dianna says:

    Great share on this topic. It is a silent abuse at times, a shame. Your covering uncovering the lies at Leech Lake will prove to set someone’s life in a better direction, Bill.

  5. Mari says:

    I cannot tell you how many times some of the people I know push their problems in the closet. It can’t get solved if no one knows about it!!! This is one of the reasons I started writing again. People need to know and the more people write about certain subjects, the greater the likelihood it will come to light. Thanks, Billy!

    • Billybuc says:

      Mari, thank you…I love your name by the way….and you are so right. Secrets need to end; people are suffering and people want to pretend it isn’t happening. Well I refuse to shut up.

  6. Mari says:

    LOL. I guess it does!

Leave a Reply

