False Heroes In A Dysfunctional Society

cropped-being-silly.jpgHappy Friday to you all, whether you are “normal” or dysfunctional.  There is enough room for all of you so grab a chair or a beanbag and get comfortable.

I was just reading the latest article about Alex Rodriguez, the professional baseball player currently suspended for using performance-enhancement drugs.  What a circus that has turned into.  Listen, I am a baseball purist, so naturally I am all for the suspension….but….here’s the thing.  In today’s society, this sort of thing seems to happen all the time, and I’m not just talking about sports.

We constantly see people stretch the moral limits to gain an advantage.  Business is filled with examples of this type of behavior.  We heap praise on those who succeed.  We idolize those who reach the peak of their profession.  We give tacit approval for success, no matter what the cost of that success.  We have our false heroes and we place them on pedestals and then we recoil in horror when we find out they are only human.

Instead of our daily witch hunts in the media, perhaps society needs to look in the mirror and ask why we demand perfection from others when we are incapable of giving it ourselves.

I know for a fact that I have been guilty of this in the past. I have stretched rules and cut corners to give myself an advantage over the competition.  I don’t think I am alone in saying that.  Does that make me normal or dysfunctional?

Just something to think about.  Have a great weekend.

Bill

About Billybuc

A simple man who has found happiness as a functioning dysfunctional.
This entry was posted in dysfunctional lives and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to False Heroes In A Dysfunctional Society

  1. Definite food for thought and couldn’t agree more. Have a great weekend now Bill 🙂

  2. I think it’s normal Bill, and yes something we are all guilty of for sure. As far as the suspension goes, Why do these guys when they know they are not supposed to use any drugs at all continue to do so. They’re throwing away their careers which makes no sense to me what so ever.
    Have a great weekend!

    • Billybuc says:

      Susan, I don’t have an answer for you….they think they won’t get caught? They want to succeed so badly they are willing to risk everything? No, it makes no sense at all.

      Thanks for the visit; have a great weekend in the frozen north.

  3. Demanding perfection from other when we’re incapable of giving it ourselves. Boy, you hit the nail on the head with that one, Bill! It’s like calling the kettle black. We need to look at our own faults before putting others on the firing line.

    • Billybuc says:

      We do indeed, Sha. It’s a full time job just taking care of myself and making sure I act properly; I can’t imagine being in charge of someone else’s life. 🙂

  4. Mari says:

    Apparently, in today’s society, if you’re not Miley Cyrus, then there’s something wrong with you. 🙂

    • Billybuc says:

      Oh Mari, my goodness, is that girl a train wreck or what? My goodness, someone needs to sit down with her and explain that her current activities will not seem so clever when she is fifty. LOL

  5. ruchira says:

    well then we all are guilty my friend 🙂

    we all want an inch of this planet and to sometimes steal the thunder…why not!

    have a good weekend, Bill

  6. Hello Bill. Regularly you’re throwing bombs we used to that, now you are switching toward atomic… “False Heroes” – made or “created” ; in ancient Rome ” Give me bread and game “- I’ll follow you, surrender my will and brain… Observing this “phenomena” since almost first day walking this pretentious ” public arena” of N. A. Continent, getting aquatinted with ” Stretching the moral limits ” – to my understanding properly pronounced amoral -morality -everything- goes -O.K. style. They aren’t heroes, my friend . True heroes are back-boners of society, unnoticed, never making front page headline, our neighbors of uncompromising morality for the price of derogatory tolerance without them those protected by fast written declarations would devour each other…
    Neither, answering your question…
    If you throw me out the door, I’ll come back by window, (climbing might be risky for a body with bionic hips correction , be compassionate , pleas.)
    Have a great weekend.

    • Billybuc says:

      Michael my friend, I’m laughing too hard to respond. You are so right and in this case so funny…..and God bless the back-boners of society; where would we be without them, eh?

      blessings my friend and enjoy your weekend.

      bill

  7. Recently, I made a comment about how I wouldn’t be surprised to hear that Colin Kaepernick was taking performance enhancing drugs. I said it as a joke, meaning Kaepernick was performing at a level that is beyond the average player. The people I said this to went into a rage, jumpping down my throat as if I had spoken the most unholy words mankind has ever heard. What? I didn’t say Kaepernick WAS taking drugs, I said I wouldn’t be surprised to HEAR that he was taking drugs. That’s all. It seems like people look the other way as long as their team is willing.

    • Billybuc says:

      Marlene, that does not surprise me at all. Occasionally I’ll read comments on some sports article I find on Yahoo….fans are certifiably crazy at times. I’m not sure what kind of reality they live in. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by my friend.

Leave a Reply

