Philip Seymour Hoffman and the Dysfunction of Addiction

cropped-being-silly.jpgPhilip Seymour Hoffman….RIP!

Welcome back to the Dysfunctional Playhouse, and today I guess we’ll take a few minutes to discuss this untimely death.

I do not idolize actors or sports stars.  Those days of wide-eyed innocence are long past.  This blog post is about human beings and not stars.

I am an alcoholic and I move about at times in the world of addiction. I regularly attend Alcoholics Anonymous meetings and have quite a few friends who are addicts and alcoholics.  Rarely does a month go by that I don’t lose a friend to addiction.  Relapse is a reality that I am quite familiar with, as is the death of friends.

I have no words of wisdom about the death of Hoffman.  I see it far too often and I still have no deep insights into addiction.  It is a killing disease, whether your drug of choice is heroin, alcohol, cocaine or whatever else alters reality.  Addicts know the risks of continual use; they are fully aware that they might die….and still they use, as I did at one time.

I do not mourn the loss of Hoffman any more or less than I mourn the loss of my friends each month….it is a senseless waste that will forever beg the question…..why?

Bill

About Billybuc

A simple man who has found happiness as a functioning dysfunctional.
This entry was posted in dysfunctional lives and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Philip Seymour Hoffman and the Dysfunction of Addiction

  1. I thought the same thing and just a simple “Why” on this. Interesting story though, on my wedding day, Kevin and his groomsmen (my brother included) went to the local diner for breakfast. Philip Seymour Hoffman was sitting at the table next to them and was leaving as they were sitting down. My brother always told the story how he actually literally pumped elbows with him and didn’t even realize who he was until after he left and one of the other guys told him. Crazy and always do remember this story.

  2. I had to look this guy up as his name didn’t ring a bell with me. I know, I know – head in the sand again.

    I lost a good friend to a cocaine overdose many years ago. We tried to get her to quit. I guess the only way she could was to die.

  3. Clear-eyed Sky says:

    I think people are more affected when they see a talented actor succumb to addiction because they seem to have it all–money, fame, social status–all of the things that the average American wishes for. It’s easier to imagine the no-name “junkie” lying in the street with a needle in his arm. And more comforting, because we all like to feel protected from this horrid disease. But addiction is no respecter of persons and will take any victim it chooses. That’s one of the reasons why it’s so awesome that you share your story without reservation . . . it doesn’t have to end this way and you give people hope.

    And how ’bout them Hawks? I’m the queen of segue.

    • Billybucb says:

      Wow, Lizzy, that was one of the worst segues I have ever seen. LOL But I love you for adding it.

      And I love you for your comment. If I give people hope then I have done my job. It is my responsibility to do so; I’m one of the lucky ones who did not die and got a second chance, and it is because of loved ones who would not give up on me…and friends like you who continue to support me with your love and friendship…so thank you my dear.

  4. Lea Tartanian says:

    Billy buc, The movie goer that I am, I’ve seen Phillip Hoffman in film. Another terrible tragedy. I loved Corey Montieth in Glee – another drug addict …these people who have died, another one, Whitney Houston, I am just speechless. Like you, I do not mourn…and I ask, “Why?” So thankful for every day, every breath, and it is awful how, instead of appreciating life, these people live for one thing:
    a fix, a drug, to shoot up.
    Hopefully God will use these deaths to maybe encourage some addicts to quit, who knows?
    Blessings, Sparklea/Lea

    • Billybucb says:

      As I said, Lea, I have no answers….and I am one of them. Love saved me, and love I now give to others in hopes that I can prevent this from happening to just one person.

      blessings and love to you

      bill

  5. ruchira says:

    I kinda agree with you Bill

    Living a blessed life with a high profile…he should have ought to recognize how lucky he is…unless it was a mistake.

    either ways…RIP philip hoffman!

  6. It’s just so sad…I’ve seen too many people fall victim to a drug. What I can not understand is that everyone knows now how addictive these drugs are…we know you can get hooked the first time you use some of them so why bother to begin with?!

    Many years ago,..no one knew the devastation drugs would cause but science, research and history have unclouded all that water. Still…people will die for it. I don’t get it.

    • Billybucb says:

      Kelly, I don’t have an answer for you. Maybe people think they are ten foot tall and bulletproof, that addiction will never happen to them….maybe they simply don’t care if it does…if I had the answers maybe I could stop it.

Leave a Reply

