Harming Ourselves For Pleasure

cropped-being-silly.jpgI’m back and ready to discuss in more depth this phenomenon of people ingesting, drinking and smoking things that are obviously bad for them.

Good morning by the way. We are having only our second cold spell of the winter here in Olympia.  For all of my friends in the north and east I know that sounds unbelievable considering the winter you have had, but it is true. We have had two inches of snow all winter here….let me say that again…two inches.

My last post raised the question why people buy GMO foods knowing that they are bad for them….but we can take that a step further, can’t we?  Why do people smoke?  There can be no doubt, can there, that everyone knows that smoking can cause cancer?  And yet people ignore that and start the addiction and go on for years.  Where is the logic?

The same can be said for drugs and alcohol?  The statistics of crime and accidents and death caused by alcohol and drugs are staggering, and yet people take them.

Now I am an alcoholic. I don’t know my family’s history with regards to addiction, so I was flying blind when I took my first drink. By the time I realized I had a drinking problem I was addicted….and once addiction enters the picture all logic is gone…..but…..

Is there any doubt that meth is bad for you? How about cocaine?  Heroin?  Knowing that something might kill you and still taking it….are we not talking about dysfunction?

We humans are fascinating creatures.  We have such complex and analytical brains, and yet at times the simplest truth escapes us.

Bill

About Billybuc

A simple man who has found happiness as a functioning dysfunctional.
This entry was posted in dysfunctional lives and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Harming Ourselves For Pleasure

  1. I have never gotten it either Bill and my dad smoked since he was a teen. Tried to quit many times and only finally did it after having a heart attack and stroke being pretty much scared straight so to speak. I wish I got it, but all he would tell us that we didn’t know or understand how hard it truly was. But still no answers and just try my best to deal with stuff like this as I can. Thanks as always for sharing and have a great weekend now!

    • Billybuc says:

      It’s a common story in this country, Janine. Of course, back in the day when your dad started smoking, there was no proof that it was harmful…today we don’t have that excuse….anyway, thank you as always.

  2. Yeah, I just don’t get it either. I watched a video that you shared a while back. It was about a guy who was hooked on drugs. He knew it was killing him, but he kept doing it anyway. I don’t get it.

  3. Mari says:

    a friend of mine told me that we do these things because we are afraid of facing the reality (whatever it may be) sober. we are afraid to handle challenges or deny temptation because of the hard reality and truth behind it. what we are afraid of is another question to ask, but i agree with his suggestion in some respect.

    • Billybuc says:

      Mari, the desire to run from reality is a strong one and I’ve often heard that around the halls of AA….there is truth to that for sure. 🙂 Thank you!

  4. Bill, when you posted your blog about GMO’s, I was thiiiiis close to closing my comment with something like “how can a smoker tout organic foods to others?”. I must say I smoke. I know it’s not only bad for my health, but that of the environment. That makes me feel like a complete hypocrite. Well, not complete but I definitely have no room to call the kettle black.

Leave a Reply

