Jordan Davis and Dysfunction In America

cropped-being-silly.jpgLike many others I was drawn to the Florida verdict in the shooting of Jordan Davis.  It occurs to me that this case is so much about dysfunctional behavior.

In a bare outline, this is what happened:

  • Man pulls into a parking lot next to a car full of teens who are playing loud music
  • Man get into argument with teens about music
  • Man opens fire at car, killing one teen
  • Man says he felt threatened.
  • Jury does not convict on murder one but does convict on four other counts

Let’s set aside the verdict and concentrate for a moment on what happened leading up to the shooting death.

A man was driving around with a loaded gun in his car.

A man becomes incensed over loud music.

A man shoots people because of an argument.

Welcome to the Dysfunctional Playhouse!

I am in no way making light of this situation.  I don’t even know where to start in listing all the things that bother me in this story.

I have made it alive through sixty-five years without ever once having a loaded gun in my car. Where does that need come from? Why do people feel they need to carry deadly force wherever they go?

I have been angry in my life but not once….not once….have I felt so angry that I felt that shooting someone was the solution.  Where does that gut reaction come from?  Are there not several other steps that could have been taken before killing someone?

If this were an isolated incident in this country I might not have too much concern, but this happens far too often in the United States.  Violence is the first reaction in many altercations.  Set aside the issue of race for a moment because I don’t want this clouded by the race card…..it is not alright to settle disputes by killing someone.  Hell, for that matter, if you don’t like loud music, park somewhere else rather than deliberately start an argument over it.

I don’t understand this kind of dysfunctional behavior. I did not grow up around it; I have never been a part of it; and I will never be able to condone it or justify it.

Bill

About Billybuc

A simple man who has found happiness as a functioning dysfunctional.
This entry was posted in dysfunctional lives and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Jordan Davis and Dysfunction In America

  1. Bill, I grew up in Queens, NY and never once I have felt like I need to carry around a weapon or gun on me. So, you are truly preaching to the choir and just don’t get it either here myself. Totally at a lose and really just don’t have an answer for you either. But nice to see you back blogging this week and wishing you a wonderful week ahead now 🙂

  2. I’m taking a Topics in Diversity class and this issue came up this week. We’re talking about “white privilege” and though you’re not talking about race here, with the amount of dysfunction in this country, the amount of guns people feel they have the right to carry around, this violence – especially when it comes to minorities – is only going to increase, I’m afraid, or at least as long as they have that ludicrous law “Stand Your Ground” enacted. Already, twice in one year with this! We talk about people feeling lonely and detached, but how the hell do they think there’s going to be any “community” as long as people feel like it’s their right to fire on someone else because of a difference of opinion? Then there was the whole movie theater incident in – you guessed it – Florida about the guy texting over the care of his child and someone getting offended. Grr…these issues incite so much rage in me: but the kind of rage that makes me want to say, where’s the LOVE, people? What the hell is wrong with us?

    • Billybuc says:

      Cyndi, thank you for a great comment about a very worrisome topic. This seems to be getting worse and not better…there is too much fear and distrust and hate in this country. It goes beyond race…this strikes at the very core of our national conscience and heartbeat.

  3. Billybuc says:

    Glad I’m not alone, Janine, because this kind of activity is a mystery to me. Thanks; it was nice taking a week off from blogging.

  4. Bill, I don’t own a gun. All my neighbors do, but I refuse. I don’t like them. They scare me. I’ve been just fine for almost 57 years doing without one. No one has broken into my home or threatened me while I’ve been out and about. Live and let live.

  5. Hello Bill. A Gun to carry wouldn’t be an issue. Often guns come handy to carry. Dealing with irresponsible users of the weapon should be changed for better; the one who for no reason opens fire at a car where people minding their own business, killing an innocent person, should be treated adequately : Before sunset ” You’re dead dude.” No jury, no lawyers making easy money – might sent message by which many ” dysfunctional” would consider to drop “DYS ” out of their behavior.( See my friend this long lasting harsh cold winter makes my mind think sharply.)
    Have a great week.

    • Billybuc says:

      MIchael my friend, your mind is thinking sharply and rationally. There is no doubt gun safety comes from responsible use of guns….now how do we legislate that? I am not against gun ownership, but changes have to happen at some level so that the irresponsible can never pull a trigger.

      Thank you and hopefully this week will see that long, harsh winter edging towards spring.

      bill

  6. My husband and I were talking about this very subject late last night. We were talking about how angry people get over the simplest things. Recently, my husband was watching TV. When the commercial came on, my husband went to visit the men’s room. Although the marketing experts say the commercials don’t come up louder than the regular shows, we all know the volume is somewhat elevated on commercials. Long story short… all of a sudden a neighbor came running up our front porch, pounding on the door like a maniac, shouting, “Turn that f—ing thing down!” Well, by the time my husband made it to the door, the neighbor had run back home. I was thinking to myself that if that man had a gun, he might have used it in anger. And, then it would have been too late to say he was sorry. He did apologize later, but people do crazy things in the heat of the moment. And, it’s not like we watch TV loud like that; heck, normally we mute the commercials. This time, we didn’t mute the commercial and it brought a dysfunctional neighbor to our doorstep.

    • Billybuc says:

      Wow! Are you kidding me, Marlene? Of course you aren’t, but holy cow! It is amazing how much anger there is today. We have a neighbor two doors down who gets angry about our hens and will stand in his backyard and yell at the chickens to “shut the F up”….like the chickens are listening to him and will respond. Meanwhile the normal sounds of the neighborhood are going on, the chainsaws and power tools and whatever, but the chickens are what he focused his anger on. I simply don’t understand that kind of anger….hopefully I never will understand it. 🙂 Thank you Marlene!

Leave a Reply

