The One Finger Salute To Random Violence

cropped-being-silly.jpgWelcome back to our little getaway playhouse, safe from the madness that surrounds us.  Pull up a bean bag chair and get comfy.

I’m not done talking about random violence, so I will hopefully get it out of my system today.

I was raised by a no-nonsense father who believed that a man should never pick a fight, but also that a man should never run away from one.  We get into pretty murky territory with that directive, but I understood what he was saying while I grew up, and I can honestly say I have never started a fight with another person.  I don’t enjoy fighting. I’ve done my fair share of it growing up but I really can’t say it is something I look forward to doing.  I have always believed that man should be intelligent enough to find an alternative to fighting, and one only fights when it is absolutely necessary and there are no alternatives.

That’s why these random acts of violence are so foreign to me.  I can’t wrap my brain around them at all.

When I was a teen and someone cut you off in traffic, you gave them the one-finger salute and went on your way. Today you give the finger salute and the other driver shoots at your car.  What has happened over the past fifty years? How has this type of random violence become the norm rather than the exception?

There is no easy answer to that question.  Somehow, over time, the United States has become a very violent nation.  Blame it on parents…blame it on the media…blame it on whatever…the change is noticeable and as a nation we have to address it.

Stricter gun laws will not solve the problem.  People with violent tendencies really could care less what the law states…they get angry and they lash out at someone.  End of story, and no law is going to change that.  No, we have to find a way to identify anger problems and deal with them before they result in a  death.  Again, no easy answer or solution.

I don’t understand that kind of anger. I never will.

Bill

About Billybuc

A simple man who has found happiness as a functioning dysfunctional.
This entry was posted in dysfunctional lives and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The One Finger Salute To Random Violence

  1. Me neither Bill and will say I too was not raised in home that begets violence also. So, I like you you am not used to understanding violence or any form of it. That said, I have seen and heard my fair share in the news and outside of my home, too. But doesn’t make it easier to accept or indeed understand. Anyways, wishing you a great day again, Bill!

  2. I don’t understand it either, Bill. I don’t know what the solution is except perhaps it must start at home. I wasn’t raised with guns. My parents never owned weapons nor do they now. It’s just never been a way of life for me. For others, they grew up hunting. Guns were a way of bringing home the bacon. But I will never understand why someone would feel the need to keep pistols – that are meant to shoot people – in their homes. That’s just asking for trouble. I’ve said it before and I stand behind it: I don’t like guns. They scare me. People who feel the need to be on the defensive (thus, carrying or possessing weapons) too often use weapons for offense. That’s very scary.

    • Billybuc says:

      Too often indeed, Sha, but it wasn’t always that way, and I’m wondering why we have reached the point where people now shoot first and ask questions later? I don’t get it but something has to change.

  3. I don’t understand it either. It’s as if people are perched at the edge of a cliff, daring someone to look at them wrong, thereby giving them a reason to pounce. I guess we could say people are “edgy”.

    • Billybuc says:

      Oooh, Marlene, did you really say that? LOL Seriously, it seems exactly like that my friend; one is afraid to make eye contact with a stranger on the street, and what a sad testament that is.

  4. suzettenaples says:

    It is sad, Bill, and I don’t understand it either. I believe it all begins in the home and how we are taught to deal with anger. I find from my travels that American society as a whole is very immature. We believe everything should turn out our way, because, after all this is a democratic society. When things don’t work out as expected Americans turn to guns as an answer and just shoot someone or many. In times of frustration we are lashing put and killing one another when, for example, we don ‘t want to listen to “thug” music and the one playing it doesn’t comply with the request. We have some serious problems psychologically with anger in this country. I keep saying education is the answer, but that doesn’t seem to be working either. Who knows?

    • Billybuc says:

      Suzette, thank you…I still believe education and family are the keys….unless one is raised in a stable environment with good role models, there is no chance in the future…and we see this over and over again in our society. The family unit needs to be solid and supporting…blah, blah, blah…I’m preaching to the choir. 🙂

  5. Alexandra says:

    This probably won’t be a popular observation, but I believe our fascination with violence in movies, television, and video games has a lot to do with it. That is one area that has changed dramatically in the last 50 years. “An average American child will see 200,000 violent acts and 16,000 murders on TV by age 18” – University of Michigan Health. They also mention that thousands of studies have been done to see if there is a link between exposure to media violence and violent behavior. All but 18 came back with a resounding YES. “A 15-year-long study by University of Michigan researchers found that the link between childhood TV-violence viewing and aggressive and violent behavior persists into adulthood.” Maybe we should be turning off the TV and avoiding games like Grand Theft Auto – just a thought.

  6. Excellent controversial topic.Speaking of unpopular opinions *grin*, could it be argued that a society, on edge, should not have the same freedom to bear arms that our forefathers enacted, long ago? That maybe we need to take a second look (just a look!) at background checks, “concealed and carry” laws, sales of semi-automatic and military grade weapons and (YES YES YES!) mental illness issues. C’mon…young men, with underlying illnesses, that hole themselves up in their room to watch violent movies & play explicit video games, while polishing the semi-automatic their mommy bought them at the gun show, in an America, gone Mad Max? This is common-sense stuff, isn’t it?

    I don’t have the answers on how we compromise. I’m not sure it isn’t too late for ANYONE in our society to have the answers on this issue. We all have different experiences with guns. Some of us remember happy times, bonding with Dad or Grand Dad, hunting turkey or deer as a rite of passage; being taught to handle a firearm, safely. When I was seven, a neighbor blew my puppy away, with a hunting rifle, for chasing his cat up a tree. My best friend’s father killed his wife, next door, while “cleaning” his gun. I live in a hunter’s paradise, so the experiences that have formed my opinions make me unpopular with the NRA set. I start to think, “Why can’t we all just rationally take a calm second look at the situation?” and consider that we haven’t walked in the footsteps of another? And then I remember, your point: That we are shooting one another over being cut off in traffic, or playing loud music or wearing hoodies or getting a detention at school, rather than flipping “the bird”.

    Hope you don’t mind the long response but this was a truly thought-provoking post. Well done.

    • Billybuc says:

      I love the long response. You are welcome any old time. I usually don’t get caught up in the gun control issue because I think it is just a symptom for much deeper problems in this country, but something has to be done in that area as well. I have no desire to take freedoms away from people in this country, but my God, when are people going to realize that our problems are mammoth and we need to sit down and at least rationally discuss them. I got my butt kicked when I was a teen for flipping off the wrong person and in many ways I probably deserved it…but…I sure didn’t deserve to be shot for my foolishness.

      Thanks for a great comment.

Leave a Reply

