Child Abuse Will Never Be Acceptable

cropped-being-silly.jpgHappy Monday to you all.  Get yourselves comfortable; I’ll have snacks passed around shortly.  You’ll need the fortification of a good snack because today’s subject is not a pleasant one.

I have written often about child abuse. To me, and this is purely a subjective opinion, child abuse is the worst of all crimes.  To take a defenseless child and shatter all trust, to shatter all hopes, to shatter all dreams…..there is no justification in my mind.  I will continue to speak out..I will continue to use my powers as a writer to raise awareness…because if I don’t do it, who will?

I wrote an article once about sex trafficking in Portland, Oregon.   You can find it on my Hubpages site if you are interested. The point being that Portland is either the number one or number two city in America for sex trafficking volume, and as of last year there were only two police detectives assigned full-time to that heinous crime.  I do not understand society’s priorities.

I have also written about child abuse on two Native American Reservations, the Spirit Lake Nation of North Dakota and Leech Lake Reservation in Minnesota. I have received many emails from irate Native Americans, telling me that white men should stay out of the affairs of Indians, that how dare I tell them how to live their lives.

I do not understand society’s priorities.

Children are defenseless.  This is not a race issue. This is not someone else’s problem.  If a child is being abused it is my issue and my problem.

Child abuse is a classic example of dysfunctional behavior. I leave it to the psychologists to figure out why it occurs.  I leave it to me, as a writer and a member of the human race, to speak out against it.

And quite frankly I don’t know why more writers don’t do the same thing.

Bill

About Billybuc

A simple man who has found happiness as a functioning dysfunctional.
This entry was posted in dysfunctional lives and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Child Abuse Will Never Be Acceptable

  1. Bill, I love that you do speak out about it and can’t thank you enough as a parent and simple human being for doing so. Now, still wishing you a great day now.

  2. Billybuc says:

    We must speak out, Janine. There are too many people who would rather not hear about the ugliness, and they hide their heads and want it to magically go away….not going to happen! Thank you my dear.

  3. froggy213 says:

    Amen Bill. As you know I have written much about child abuse. The poor children that suffer these atrocities are in need of our help and writing will raise awareness. Thank you and keep it up my friend.

  4. I read in our local paper not too long ago that Central Florida now has a task force to clamp down and stomp out human trafficking. I knew it was a problem, but it’s much more widespread than we think. And it doesn’t just involve adults. In fact, more often than not children and runaway teenage girls are the victims. I’ll never understand how humans can treat fellow humans the way too many do.

    • Billybuc says:

      Sha, I have written about this several times. The greatest proportion of victims are children, snatched from shopping malls and other public places…we are talking about a billion dollar industry my friend.

  5. Hi Bill, you have an aware point of view and it is good that you speak out so loudly. You are right when you say that we, as writers, have a tool that can speak aggressively toward such things like child abuse. In fact you, Bill Holland, are the person who motivated me to become a writer for an organization that asks writers to cry out to the world with weekly blogs to let them know that people – adults and children alike – are being horridly abused. We must keep writing like this.

    • Billybuc says:

      Thank you Marlene. I think it would be a shame….and a disservice to humanity…if we did not use our gift of writing for the common good of society. I appreciate you so much..thanks again.

  6. Lea Tartanian says:

    Just awful. I don’t know how you stand it. Those poor kids. I will add them to my prayer list. All of them. I guess this is a situation where you place all these people at the foot of Jesus Christ. I have an advance ticket to see movie Son of God next week. Hope maybe you and Bev get to see it. Your neighbors would probably benefit from seeing it. God bless you, Bev and the chickens. :). Sparklea

    • Billybuc says:

      Thank you Lea! I will never understand some people no matter how long I live. As for the movie, I have no doubt we will see it and enjoy it. Blessings to you my friend….

      bill

Leave a Reply

