Where Did This Ridiculous Sense Of Entitlement Come From?

cropped-being-silly.jpgWelcome back!   If I’m not mistaken, and that’s always a possibility, today is Tuesday, March 4th.  Let’s get right to it. Make yourselves comfortable and I’ll ramble a bit.

I was reading yesterday about a New Jersey teenager who is suing her parents for back-support.  It seems that she no longer wanted to live under their rules, so she left home and moved into a friend’s house.  She says that her parents cut her off financially and emotionally when she turned eighteen because she refused to live by their rules in their house.  The case is going to court this week.

I’m sorry…..is the whole world going crazy?

There are no claims of abuse here; the teen is simply saying that her parents were being unfair and she is entitled to a court settlement that will pay for her college and for room and board.

I’m sorry….is the whole world dysfunctional?

If this was the first time I had heard of such a thing I would just write it off as a random act of craziness, but I have seen numerous court cases involving children suing their parents.  Now I don’t want to appear unreasonable. If a child has received horrible parenting then I am all for interaction of some sort….but…..suing one’s parents because they dare to demand a certain code of conduct in their home????

I really hope that there is something to this that has not been stated so far, because at face value this just appears to be another teenager thinking she is entitled to something she has not earned, and I, for one, am sick and tired of entitlement in this country.

I’m trying to imagine me suing my parents for the same reason back in 1966.  First of all, I would have never done it.  My parents worked their asses off to provide a good home for me and I was incredibly grateful.  I had to work summers from the time I was fifteen and it was a valuable experience for me AND I was happy to do so to alleviate some of the financial burden on them.  I never once felt entitled…never once!

Did I mention that this teen’s parents sent her to private schools through high school so that she could receive a quality and expensive education?

Okay, my rant is over.  Suffice it to say that I am not a big fan of anyone who feels they are entitled to a free ride in life.

Bill

About Billybuc

A simple man who has found happiness as a functioning dysfunctional.
This entry was posted in dysfunctional lives and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Where Did This Ridiculous Sense Of Entitlement Come From?

  1. I couldn’t agree more Bill!

  2. Bill, you are so right and not sure when things got this crazy, but seriously this girl needs a wakeup call, because never would I have dreamed to do this to my parents and sounds like she is an entitled brat in my book. Sorry, but just burns me up reading as a child and now as a mother, too.

  3. She’s got a lot of nerve!

    I, too have been working since I was 15. Well, younger actually, if you count babysitting. My mother told me that if I wanted to buy $40 shoes (that was a LOT in the 60s and 70s) and keep buying albums, I needed to get a job. So I did. They put a roof over my head, clothes on my back, food in my belly and a parochial school education in my mind. The least I could to was fund my extravagances!

    As long as children live at home – no matter how old they are – they owe the courtesy of obeying household rules. And if that snot-nosed brat wants to go to college, she can pay for it herself. After all, she’s the one who chose to leave home.

    • Billybuc says:

      Sha, it really is an interesting case and I look forward to the outcome. The legal experts say there has never been a case like this and there is no law that covers it.

  4. I agree with you on the surface, but we don’t know what’s happened up until now. I’m not talking about abuse, but there are many parents who are disconnected from their children these days. They don’t develop relationships that involve mutual respect and love, which we know has nothing to do with material things. If we could see the whole story, we’d likely see that this girl turned out exactly as they raised her to be: unappreciative, selfish, and materialistic. Perhaps they have the same characteristics. I highly doubt her upbringing looks anything like yours. Great topic of discussion with this story!

    • Billybuc says:

      Llzzy, as always the voice of reason. Thanks for pulling me in and giving me a slap on the wrist. 🙂

      • No slapping! Just another perspective. It’s crazy how many parents are totally disconnected from their children–no discipline, no training in ethics, no responsibility. Then we blame them when they grow up to be exactly what they were raised to be. Not that anyone is the perfect parent, but you know what I’m saying.

      • Billybuc says:

        Lizzy, after eighteen years of teaching it doesn’t amaze me at all. There is a definite disconnect between many parents and their kids.

    • Michael Milec says:

      Now, the parents are problem because her refusal to live under the same provision as while ‘minor’. If you please!- she has become worthless in her own actions and now you want government to step in , take more of parenting’s liberty and deprive you of your money only to support more unrulle and rebellious brats. . . That’s how ” new ” regulation are being added to create even more ridiculous entitlement.

      • Billybuc says:

        Michael my friend, we are seeing more and more of this as the years progress, and I hate seeing it. Obviously we don’t know all the facts in this case, and I’ll be interested in hearing how it ends up in court….still, there is too much entitlement in this country and I hope that reverses in time.

        Thank you as always and blessings to you and yours.

        bill

  5. Barbara Kay says:

    I think she is a spoiled brat. I worked at a nursing home helping in their kitchen and cleaning while I was in high school.

  6. Bill, I just heard about this story when I turned on the news this morning. A teen suing their parent is just so ridiculous. I have no words to describe the magnitude of how shocked I am.

    • Billybuc says:

      Marlene, I really hope there is more to it…I’m kind of hoping that the parents were abusive so there is some justification for this. I don’t know my friend….weird at best. 🙂

  7. Lea Tartanian says:

    Excellent points made here. How awful to sue your parents who gave you life and love!
    Seems it has gotten to the point where kids are running the world. They cry abuse at every tutn. This is a tragedy.
    and adults are letting them get away with it.

    • Billybuc says:

      Lea, it really makes me sit back and be grateful that I was born when I was born…I turned out okay so I figure my parents must have done something right. 🙂 Thanks for the visit kind lady.

  8. Seriously, I read this news too and was shocked!
    The kind of advantage these kids of today wanna take from us…lol
    but am hopeful no lawyer would support her case and she moves back in!

  9. Just stoppin’ by to say hi. 🙂 I can’t believe that whole thing. A child suing her parents? The nerve! I hope you’ve been well. As for me, I hope to get back to writing hubs now that these two grants are behind me (only one more to do…but not due til June – phew!) and the Odyssey Competition finished. Now I can work and do my graduate courses. Easy, right? lol

Leave a Reply

