Do You Live In A Miserable State?

cropped-being-silly.jpgAmerica’s Most Miserable States…..that is the topic for today.

Welcome back and Happy Wednesday!  A lovely topic for a blog, don’t you think?  Well let’s not delay; let’s take a look at the Top Ten Most Miserable States according to the Gallup Poll:

10) Louisiana

9) Oklahoma

8) Missouri

7) Tennessee

6) Arkansas

5) Ohio

4) Alabama

3) Mississippi

2) Kentucky

1) West Virginia

It should be noted that West Virginia has held the number one spot for five consecutive years.

So how is this list determined?  A poll of course with a number of questions about unhealthy lifestyles, limited access to basic necessities, emotional health, etc.

I found it interesting that only one of the ten states was in the north while the south dominated to final tally.  So that leads to the obvious question: why are some states viewed as being unhealthy to live in while others are considered healthy? Obviously state budgets and the health of the economy have much to do with those outcomes.

And that leads me to another question, one that really has me pondering:  if people feel they are living in an unhealthy state, why do they continue to do so?  I am making no judgment here. I’m simply curious.  I can think of several reasons which include job, family, familiarity, and possibly fear of change.

It all just had me wondering.  We are all so different.  If I was truly unhappy with the area I lived in, I wouldn’t hesitate to leave for greener pastures.  That has no significance when talking about other people and what they deem important.  It just raises interesting questions as to why people continue to live somewhere where they are unhappy or don’t feel like they are in a healthy situation.

Random thoughts….have a great day.

Bill

About Billybuc

A simple man who has found happiness as a functioning dysfunctional.
This entry was posted in dysfunctional lives and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Do You Live In A Miserable State?

  1. Definitely very interesting and would love to know why this is and probably would make a good sociology thesis for someone out there. Have a wonderful day now again, Bill 🙂

    • Billybuc says:

      I agree, it would be interesting to know more about it and why people choose to live somewhere that they obviously don’t like. Oh well, I love Washington. 🙂 Thanks Janine.

  2. *cue De Niro voice* Are you talkin’ to me?

    This is BS anyway–how is Florida not on this list?! 😀

  3. Billybuc says:

    LOL, Lizzy..I wondered the same thing.

  4. Frankly, I was glad to see Florida wasn’t on the list. Probably because old farts come here to retire and live the life of Riley! 🙂

  5. Tina Truelove says:

    I’m glad to see that Georgia is not on the list, but not surprised. I LOVE living here. Just a few thoughts though:

    1. Although this is changing, southerners don’t move around much. Our parents, grandparents, great-grandparents and so forth have lived in the same area for generations, probably back to the American Revolution. Well, at least this is true for my family and most of the people I know. I left for three years because my husband was stationed out west but every single day away, all I could think about was moving back home. I’m guessing that if people stay even though they are not happy, it is because they wish to remain close to family. Like I said, at least this is true for the people I know.

    2. The results of the latest poll could reflect political affiliations . . . maybe. I would have to review the political maps to see if this is true but if most of the southern states above are dominantly republican, the people in those states might be more inclined to state that they are unhappy at this time. Just a thought.

    I don’t know though, apparently I live in a happy state. 🙂

    • Billybuc says:

      Interesting thoughts, Tina! I suspect that family thing has a lot to do with it. I know family bonds are very strong in the south for whatever reason, and I know that generational pull is very important there. Not so much in the west and north and again I’m not sure why that is. Anyway, I thought it was an interesting subject to discuss.

  6. Dee says:

    Bill, I agree, why live in a place that is so depressing? However, if you do live in one of these states — then, make the best of it. Postive thinking!

  7. Barbara Kay says:

    Maybe they don’t have the money to move? Who knows?, I am surprised Ohio is on there.

  8. I think they missed a few states. California has some very violent places to live. When I was selling real estate I would decline to sell houses in Oakland and Richmond, just to name two cities notorious for extreme criminal activities. And, I don’t even want to talk about southern California with the city of Compton. Oh, and Lodi. Man, the survey is bogus. They missed a few states. 🙂

    • Billybuc says:

      Marlene, I’ve seen the areas you mentioned and I agree. Scared the heck out of me and no way would I live there…but some people really have little choice economically.

  9. Deb Neyens says:

    I guess weather wasn’t much of a factor, given the dearth of northern states on the list. But the harsh winter we’ve had here in Iowa sure left me feeling pretty miserable. I went for days without working out or doing anything healthier than sitting my butt on the couch wrapped in a blanket. It was just too darn cold!

  10. Bill dear, Gallup Pool, as many other informers creating food for pointless talk as do most of the media inventions. If miserable denotes uncomfortable,unhappy depress, might be not by choice of citizens, why is than avoided the truth about cause of misery?Just asking. In state of Michigan over five million people moved out in recent years, and no one is saying that for the last fourthly plus years one particular political system was ruling, spending, paying nonproductive elements to the point of bankruptcy . Besides, this is a very beautiful State, with beautiful, happy people living in it – except those who are miserable on purpose because not being happy with government monthly checks exceeding average of working family income. Barely anyone talks about currying this epidemic…( Sorry my friend, I lived under the communistic dictatorship before, and this one hurts also. ) I better stop.

    • Billybuc says:

      Michael my friend, you never have to apologize to me. As for being miserable with one’s status, I think people need to stop and smell the roses. Happiness in many cases is a state of mind and a choice. I spent a year on the tundra of Alaska in a God-forsaken land with family and I was happy. How did I do it? I chose it.

      blessings always

      bill

  11. susanzutautas says:

    Bill, Didn’t Washington have the highest suicide rate at some point in time or was that all a myth? Remembering back to when I lived there I’d always hear people complaining about the rain. I learned to love it and wish that I still lived there. Would beat the heck outta all this snow 🙂

    • Billybuc says:

      Susan, I know we were in the top five and we might have been first for awhile…it wouldn’t surprise me to hear we are still in the top five because of the rain….but….I love it. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

