Pushing Dysfunction Aside For Two Days

cropped-being-silly.jpgAnd a very Happy Friday to you all!

Let’s do something a little bit different today. Instead of talking about dysfunction, let’s talk about something pleasant….like my conversations with fellow writers the past two days.

My little experiment of giving my phone number out was a resounding success, and it’s all because of the incredible people I know through writing.  I swear my writing peers are exceptional human beings…they are extraordinarily ordinary to borrow a phrase I just love.

I have had the opportunity to speak with fifteen of my writing peers and every conversation was enjoyable….every conversation made a connection no matter how small….every conversation allowed me to know them just a little bit and they to know me….and at this time in history I believe that to be very important.

How do we reverse the dysfunction in this world?  It starts with you….it starts with me….one person can make a difference.  It may not be earth-shattering in its magnitude, but if we can make a difference in one life each day, through a kind word, a kind gesture….then we will have counteracted some of the dysfunction that we see elsewhere.

That was my goal….to make a real connection with many of you…and it was a successful experiment.

I hope that is not the end of our conversations.  I look forward to speaking to more of you over time, and speaking again to those I already spoke too over the last couple of days.

Thank you all and have a great weekend.

bill

About Billybuc

A simple man who has found happiness as a functioning dysfunctional.
This entry was posted in dysfunctional lives. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Pushing Dysfunction Aside For Two Days

  1. I think I missed that post, Bill
    Otherwise, it will be a pleasure to connect with writers. But, yes I agree connecting verbally after knowing some one virtually is a blessed feeling.

    Could you share the number 🙂

  2. I too must have missed the post–but have seen you reference it and your conversations with other writers–so glad for you–you are so very creative my friend

  3. susanzutautas says:

    You have a great weekend too Bill!

  4. What a wonderful experiment. It’s rare that online people want to make a close connection with other online people, because the reality is that you never really know who’s on the other side of the screen. The internet allows us to be anonymous and I think that’s the allure. We can manufacture a persona and no one would know the difference. But, you’re different. I knew from the first word I read from you that you were a truly honest human being. I wanted to get to know you better. And, now I feel like I have a true friend in you. Thanks Bill.

    • Billybuc says:

      You do indeed, Marlene, and I am very grateful. I’m all about people…I want to meet them, get to know them, try to understand them….who knows how much time I have left? I want to experience as many people as possible, and I am so looking forward to meeting you one day. 🙂 Thank you!

  5. Aww, Bill seriously it is times like these I wish I could make a phone call without craziness from two small little people in the background needing to make the most amount of noise when I do attempt a phone call every once in again. But just couldn’t love you more if I tried and love that you put your phone number on here for all to indeed call! Seriously, just wonderful and made my week that much brighter. Happy Friday and have a great weekend now, too 🙂

  6. Bill, reaching out is so important. I already had your number plugged into my cell phone. I think it’s been there for at least a year – probably more. However, your offer reminded me to reach out. I enjoyed our conversation. What I love about our conversations is I picture you way over yonder (which still amazes me that we can do that!) and we always end up laughing. I have a few laugh lines with your name on them. Thank you! 🙂

    Lots of Love,
    Sha

  7. audra says:

    It was a pleasure talking to you!

  8. I missed the post about the experiment but it sounds amazing, Bill! Good for you for reaching beyond the keyboard 🙂 You’re an awesome person we’re so happy to know!!

Leave a Reply

