The Dysfunction of Apathy

cropped-being-silly.jpgHappy Thursday to you all!  Today we are going to talk about the Dysfunction of Apathy.  Get comfy and let’s do it.

How many people are there in the United States?  Something like 320 million give or take a family named Jones.  I would venture to guess of those 320 million there are maybe 100 million who are infected with the disease of apathy.  Oh, I might be off by ten million, but I think I’m pretty close in that estimate.

It goes something like this….  “It’s not my problem so why should I give a shit?”  Or how about….”I’d love to help out but I don’t know what to do” or one of my personal favorites….”I don’t have the time to get involved in someone else’s problems.”

I called it a disease earlier; let’s amend that to say epidemic.

We are in this together.  We will sink or swim as a community together.  Oh, we can be counted on to say the right words when a catastrophe hits, and we might even donate some clothes and food during the holidays, but what about the other 350 days out of the year?

Children are stolen off of the streets and sold…here in the United States.  Veterans are homeless and die of exposure….here in the United States.  Our rights are being systematically stripped from us….here in the United States.  Abuse, drug addiction, hunger….here in the United States.  Not our problem? If not us, then who?  Whose problem is it if not the citizens who make up this community?

It’s interesting being a writer.  I can write an article about building a cheap greenhouse and I will receive thousands of views and comments.  Then I write an article about becoming a real, caring human being, and I’m lucky to receive one hundred views.

I’m not sure what that says about society, but I suspect apathy plays a big part in it.

Bill

About Billybuc

A simple man who has found happiness as a functioning dysfunctional.
This entry was posted in dysfunctional lives and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The Dysfunction of Apathy

  1. You are right there is no room for apathy in this and we all should do our part and not just stand by while things like this happen. Thank you Bill for the reminder and once again very much wishing you a great day now 🙂

    • Billybuc says:

      Thank you Janine! I feel strongly about this; it is up to each of us to do our part to make this a better nation. Have a great Thursday. It’s a bit damp here. 🙂

  2. Mari says:

    I also think people have chosen to desensitize themselves as well. They choose to flip the channel so to speak to something less emotionally taxing and that is a terrible thing to do in the face of tragedy. Indifference is just as bad, if not worse, than actual hate/violence/chaos.

    • Billybuc says:

      Mari, your point is a good one. We are seeing a collective shut down with the psyches of Americans and that is not good at all. Thank you my friend.

  3. Larry says:

    Was going to write a longer note here but then thought why bother—OK I’m sorry Bill the devil made me do that. Scratch that I’ve gotten more than enough flack for something I wrote just a few days back. As always couldn’t agree more my friend. I also think the social media plays a great deal into this just trying to keep us entertained and away from the real stories out there. Not unlike the Roman circus times. To many people are overwhelmed by their own problems real or otherwise and just don’t see the larger picture as it were. We are all in this together and either you accept that premise and act accordingly or you don’t. It’s why I always give money to beggars or those on the street, Yes they may waste it on wine or ?? but who am I to judge that one. I’ve been of food stamps so yes I have some empathy for those who are there now. Take care my friend and again well done sir.

    • Billybuc says:

      Larry, you made some very valid points here. The Roman Circus…how accurate that is, a perfect description of today’s world and our dependence on social media. As for beggars…been there and I know what it feels like. Just another reason for me to respect you. Thanks buddy!

  4. It is an unfortunate condition and I guess the corporate world and the government is partially responsible for putting the burden of progress on each individual’s shoulder that they wanna push their brethren’s over it and progress.

    Good article to ponder upon, Bill

  5. I read a post on Bubblews the other day (don’t laugh). The person wrote about a close friend who has a physically abusive boyfriend, who also gambles away all of their money. She said she wanted to say something, but was unsure because she didn’t want to lose her friend. Some commenters said something to the effect of “don’t get involved in other peoples’ business”. Really? I told her that unless she could live with herself for not saying anything when her friend ends up dead, she should say something. I don’t get it!

    • Billybuc says:

      I don’t either, Lizzy! We have a casual acquaintance who just got married after a three month courtship….it is a disaster waiting to happen, a very controlling guy who, get this, is a sniper for the Army and loves his job. Enough said! We had a talk with her.

      • Oh, my. She’s lucky to have friends like you. It’s amazing how people have no trouble getting into other peoples’ business on the internet, spouting off opinions and judgements, but to those they know in person? Forget about it!

      • Billybuc says:

        Very true, Lizzy! The safety of anonymity, which is really what the internet is all about.

  6. Sorry, I’m late to the party. I’ve been in training all day.

    You know if people don’t get involved they have no one but themselves to blame when something catastrophic happens. Too many think that if the situation – whatever it may be – is not close to home, it’s not their problem. Au contraire, mes amis! How many suicides and/or murders could have been thwarted if people stuck their noses where they didn’t think they belong? Why are there hotlines with strangers at the helm if only those close to a situation should “butt in”? And how many people don’t speak up to family members or friends when the writing on the wall is staring them in the face?! One kind word. One kind action. One proverbial slap in the face is sometimes all it takes to wake someone up to the destruction that is going on right smack in front of them.

    We are all dysfunctional in one way or another. But those of us who are fortunate enough to have somewhat of a normal life, those of us who don’t suffer from mental illness or homelessness or abuse – or whatever – have the moral duty of speaking for those who can’t speak for themselves – or for those who are unwilling to see.

    It’s not always about money. Sometimes all it take is someone caring enough to mind someone else’s business.

  7. Hi Bill.
    Yeah, dysfunction of apathy is well spread pastime in many areas of daily function.Now, not to be part of it would just suggest ” sticking nose in other people’s business .” Just recently on my rout , walking through the neighborhood , at the there-ways stop sign a brand new passenger car ran through in better then 25m. speed limit zone. The driver noted my loud words “Whats wrong with your car?” and stopped immediately. Talking politely to young girl my advise was to take car back to the dealer, get money back because car doesn’t respect neither stop signs nor speed limits. Well isn’t it, ” sticking nose…'”- ( You won’t like my conversation with a new , just moving in neighbors: a young divorced man with 3 year old son and a girlfriend. Its nice my remark was, – you know what you are doing, i said to young girl, the child needs both parents, you will be as mom to him. . . Seems like we established good relationship.)
    As you are saying, ‘ we are running out of time…’ Some opportunities go without return…
    Great weekend, my friend.

    • Billybuc says:

      Michael, I think you handled both situations perfectly, and with much more diplomacy than I would have in the first example.

      Enjoy your weekend my friend; it is a time of relaxation.

      bill

Leave a Reply

